My Favorites: Drugstore Foundation

IMG_0587 IMG_0589Finding your holy-grail foundation is never easy. Especially when it’s from the drugstore where options are limitless and there isn’t a professional to help match you. What brand? What shade? Liquid? Mineral? Pressed? What kind is right for my skin type? It can be overwhelming to find your perfect fit.

For me, my preferences changed as much as my skin did. I was in love with mineral foundation for a long time. The first foundation i ever used was BareMinerals Mineral Foundation that i got as a gift. When it ran out, I switched to Loreal True Match Naturale Gentle Mineral Makeup, because i refused to spend the $40 for BareMinerals, even though I loved it. (I was only in high school, okay.) With my super oily and acne prone skin, mineral foundation was the longest lasting and had good coverage. But as I got into college, I didn’t like the super matte finish anymore. I didn’t like the grainy texture and wanted something with a dewier, lighter finish. So I tried Neutrogena Skin Clearing liquid foundation, thinking it would give me the more natural look I desired and also help my acne prone skin. But to my disappointment, that wasn’t the case at all. Although i loved what my skin looked like immediately after applying the foundation, a couple hours into the day, my face was an oil slick and the makeup was literally “sliding off my face.” I tried applying powder and blotting throughout the day, but that made it even worse and more “cakey” looking. I needed a perfect in-between; not too matte, but not too dewy. I literally felt like this product didn’t exist and went back to mineral foundation. I figured i would rather look completely matte, then have my face shine like a disco ball.

Then one day, my life changed. Okay, maybe i’m being a little dramatic, but i found exactly what i was looking for in Maybelline’s Dream Liquid Mousse Foundation. The first time i put it on, i literally fell in love. I applied it by putting a few small dots on my fingers and then blotting them onto my skin. With this product, a little really does go a long way. (I have had my bottle for a few months and am still only half-way through it.) I then rubbed it into my skin and watched as the foundation blended so well i thought i was dreaming. It not only had great coverage without having to build up multiple layers, but the creamy consistency didn’t emphasize every bump, pore or crevasse in my face. It glided over dry and oily patches, giving me an airbrushed finish (just like it promised). The best part? It lasted all day!

I have used my Maybelline Dream Liquid Mousse Foundation with and without primer. I have applied it with a blending sponge, stippling brush and my fingers. I have worn it with no other makeup and with a full face of makeup. Every single time, i have been impressed. Because it’s inexpensive, widely available and gets the job done, it has quickly became favorite, every day foundation.

My Shade: Classic Ivory (Light 2)

Price: $7.19-$9.49 at most Drugstores

Glass Pump Bottle: 1FL OZ. 30ml

Much Love xoxo,

Michala

Leave a comment